I Feel Like a Whore

because the very first thing I did was run off with points in the BM tree to find me an exotic pet. But let me assure you – the novelty wore off in about 4 seconds. “Hey, look! I have a chimaera! Now what?” So, because I’m cheap, I spent all night playing with my new grinding spec, and let me tell you…it is GLORIOUS.

First I was trying to decide what pet I wanted. Can’t get a rhino yet, people were camping the t-rex, the core hounds that are easy to get to aren’t tameable…so. I went to Stranglethorn, and I got me a croc. Now, I like my croc, but it just didn’t satisfy my need for a big hulking tank. So instead, I left STV with a big black gorilla (every pet I’ve ever had has been black, and usually pretty big, because they’re just better that way – no snarky comments).

I named him Spanks. And what an appropriate name it is! Of course, the 36 gorilla dinged 65 as soon as he was tamed, but he was still a little low to run around with in 70-land…or so I thought. I figured I could solo me some dailies whether or not my pet was any use. Not only was Spanks useful, he was actually a lifesaver at a few points (because I get careless and just start flailing around and end up with six mobs on me at once). A level 65 gorilla held aggro better than our OT normally does…and did a significant amount of damage, too. Not to mention his talents were hastily placed (and so were mine) and his attacks are pretty weak against something 5 levels higher.

Overall, I had a great experience with both Spanks and the new BM tree, which was WAY more fun than usual to play. So many more things to do with it now, and no worries about clipping. And a huge plus is the new cooldown for Misdirect. Besides the stray mobs, I’m pretty sure I didn’t get hit once. Mobs dropped like flies. I used to have a bit of trouble with the Myrmidons on Sunstrider simply because my kitteh wouldn’t hold aggro, so I’d usually end up with a few bruises and an axe in my hands at the end. Not this time, my friends. 5 hits and that thing was dead, and 30 yards away from me. And I think to myself, “Self, I can live with this.”

Now I know what you’re all thinking – “But Nass, what about Eidan!” Don’t worry. I’ll be keeping Eidan with me forever. He’s my partner in crime. Only now, he’s even more badass. When I first whistled for him, there he was, all stealthed and sexy-lookin’. And since my points were hastily thrown into BM, I was able to give him that cool Phoenix ability and even tried it out once. At 2:30am we attempted Heroic Mech. Suffice it to say we finished before 3:00. The tank’s aggro was amazing (warrior), the ret pally was keeping up with me (kinda) and my damage was through the roof at 1200dps UNBUFFED. Let’s also keep in mind that I’m a total BM noob, so I rarely remembered any of my greater spells. You know…like Beastial Wrath…lol

Here’s a screenshot of the awesomeness. Click!

Check out the character sheet and the fact that my stats hardly changed at all between TBC Marks and the new patch BM. So, take that plus all the haste from BM and the added pet damage and you have yourself a massacre. A cool, calm, controlled massacre. Although I think what I like about the new BM is that it’s so much more fast-paced and involved (if you’re doing it right, and without macros). The calm part comes from the fact that I didn’t pull aggro once and only feigned twice throughout the entire instance.

Regarding mana useage – BM mana useage is pretty damn good. I saw a decent amount of mana back from talents, and a few seconds of Viper had me right back up to full. I’m very impressed. Although I think it may be OP. We’ll see. But I expect it to get nerfed very soon. Unfortunately, there was not enough time (or gold) in the night to test out my beloved MM tree. That will come on Thursday (or tonight if we don’t raid). I also didn’t get a damage meter for some raw facts, which I plan on doing tonight. BM may end up obsolete in this patch, but having my own personal tank on the daily grind is well worth the respeccing fee. And I’m so in love with my gorilla that I’m not even sure I’ll be needing a rhino. I’ll test it…but I’m gonna be testing a lot of things.

*note* The new Disengage is AWESOME, and so is the fact that all hunters get Deterrence. I didn’t know about Deterrence until I logged in and saw it in my trainable abilities. o.O Sweet.

So, final thoughts – I really like where this is going. =D

~ by Kelly Jennelle on October 15, 2008.

2 Responses to “I Feel Like a Whore”

  1. *goes to edit blogroll*

    😛

  2. Howsabout I edit yo’ face?!

Leave a Reply

 
