Improved Hunters Mark Testing : Results

Last time we tested three points between Wild Quiver and Piercing Shots. This time, I threw those three points into Improved Hunter’s Mark to see what the difference was. Keeping this spec and testing with and without Improved Hunter’s Mark, I came up with these results:

First Test : No Hunter’s Mark, standard Arcane rotation

Nassira – 1429.8 DPS            Eidan – 338.6 DPS           Combined – 1768.4 DPS

Second Test : Hunter’s Mark, three open points

Nassira – 1655.2 DPS            Eidan – 314.8 DPS            Combined – 1970 DPS

Third Test : Hunter’s Mark, three points in Improved HM

Nassira – 1643.9 DPS            Eidan – 336 DPS               Combined – 1979.9 DPS

So what does this show us? I’ll be honest – the only real information I gathered from these tests was NEVER FORGET TO USE HUNTER’S MARK!

As for the effectiveness of your three talent points in Improved Hunter’s Mark? The changes were insignificant. Those three points can do more damage elsewhere. Putting them into Improved Tracking will most likely net you more damage, although until they change the dummies and make them trackable (please?) I just won’t know for sure. I do know that if you put 5 points into Unleased Fury, your pet, unbuffed, will increase his damage by about 50-70 DPS. That’s not bad! Certainly more significant than Improved Hunter’s Mark. I feel like I just wasted 2 hours of my life. And a lot of gold. But no one can claim my three points should hang in IHM.

Happy Hunting,

❤ Nass

~ by Kelly Jennelle on January 4, 2009.

7 Responses to “Improved Hunters Mark Testing : Results”

  1. It may be worth rememebering though that if you have Focused Aim, you are probably only sat at 5% hit, which means your pet is going to miss a decent amount. With this in mind I would suggest that improved tracking would give greater surety of increased DPS.

    Is that faulty logic?

  2. It’s good to remember that. With my pet missing approximately 10% of all hits, he manages 312-330 DPS. With Unleashed Fury, he stands at 415-425. Of course, this relies heavily on your own crit chance, but I did find that unless you have BOTH points in Go for the Throat, your pet will barely do more damage with UF. Those two points are much more important than UF, so finish both of those before you go for the others.

    As for Improved Tracking, in theory it sounds fantastic – but remember the tricky wording and the fact that it’s a first-level talent. We won’t know for sure until there’s a solid way to test it. We need to see what it does and doesn’t affect.

  3. Wow, very enlightening test Nass! I sure wont forget to put up my HM anymore. I am kind of disappointed with Imp HM talent. I thought there would be a greater boost to dps with it. And grats for getting your new toy! 😀

  4. Thanks! It’ll be good to have a bow instead of a gun again. All that BANG BANG made my guildies hate me. I was also hoping that these tests would show significant difference, but I ran them quite a few times to be sure, and it wasn’t enough of a boost to out-do the standard HM every run. I figure if sometimes it’s lower and sometimes higher, it clearly isn’t very effective. I’m looking for cut and dry increases, and this wasn’t it.

  5. You rock! Time to respec out of IHM.

    Thanks for spending the g’s to test it out!

  6. Oh and one more thing. Can anyone confirm or deny that the increase in RAP only applies to the RAP of the hunter that casts the IHM?

    If it applied to the RAP of all hunters in the raid, on a 25-man, I might be persuaded by my friends in Survival and BM to take it… especially when we’re rolling 4 or 5 hunters.

  7. Thanks for reading. 🙂

    Judging by the text of Hunter’s Mark and IHM, it should apply to everyone’s AP. However, it only applies to RAP, so it will only help ranged physical, i.e. other hunters. If one of you keeps it up, the other doesn’t need to.

    “Places the Hunter’s Mark on the target, increasing the ranged attack power of all attackers against that target by 300. In addition, the target of this ability can always be seen by the hunter whether it stealths or turns invisible. The target also appears on the mini-map. Lasts for 2 min.”

Leave a Reply

 
