NTLDR Missing : Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to restart.

*cry*

This is the second time this has happened to me. Luckily, it wasn’t a full crash either time. Instead, it was a very strange thing – somehow, my computer swapped priorities between boot drives. And of course, me having a horrible memory, I couldn’t recall which drive is the correct drive, so after trying two, I decided I was screwed and would have to purchase another drive, lose all my stuff, buy another copy of Vista, and painstakingly redo everything. I attempted safe mode, selected the one drive I hadn’t tried, and it worked – so I backed up all my data just in case, ran back into BIOS and set it to boot from that drive again. Problem solved…..except that I don’t understand what would cause my BIOS settings to change without me manually changing them.

Anyone computer savvy want to explain to me why and how that would happen, and how I can prevent it from happening? Also, if the fact that it’s happening is a bad omen of things to come? Your comments are much appreciated. My computer is the one good thing I have left in my posession.

As far as WoW goes, I got on around 10:00, just in time for everyone to start lagging out and disconnecting because lo and behold, another maintenance day has ruined our chances at a near clear the first day of reset. I think Jailer was about to cry. We cleared out Spider and Plague wing, since those are really the only two where lag and disconnects aren’t going to hurt you too badly (4-man Heigan with a resto shaman, a mage, a ret pally, and a prot warrior…that was interesting) but hopefully tonight we can cruise through the rest and make some real attempts on Sapphiron and Kel’Thuzad.

Nothing more satisfying than fixing your computer issues only to log into a virtual nightmare of disconnects and lag. =/

❤ Nass

~ by Kelly Jennelle on January 7, 2009.

8 Responses to “NTLDR Missing : Press Ctrl-Alt-Del to restart.”

  1. Unless your Shaman is the shit… Then you got nothing to worry about…

  2. Yeah, too bad we don’t have any good Shaman…maybe I should post a recruiting page… =P

  3. That’s it… I’m making my own blog, just to bash yours…

  4. OMG you totally should! “Diaries of the Guy Competing With Nass While Attempting to See Her Naked”

  5. While I’m sure your fans are deseprate for more of our witty banter I have more mature type things to do…Shaman stuff you wouldn’t understand.

  6. OMG – this is exactly what happened to me! What the heck is going on with PCs these days?

  7. I’m pretty much a good day behind here, just ran across the blog while I’m looking for things to do that work will let me access.

    As for the PC issue, how old is it? If it’s losing bios settings or reverting back to defaults, could be the battery on the board that keeps those settings is hosed.

    /random idea.

    And the comment on vista, why would you need to buy another one? I bought an OEM copy of it (Vista Ultimate) when it was released and I’ve rebuilt my entire system, I’ve had to call to get a key, but they seem to have little to no problem tossing them around.

    Just a thought. Enjoy the blog!

    • Ah, that would make sense! Thanks for the input. As for getting another copy, it’s because my ex took mine, so I’d have to go buy another. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
