Patch 3.1 – 15 Things I Find Interesting

Patch 3.1 is here. The list below is a compilation of 15 things I find interesting or worth remembering while I sit here at work and wish I were at home downloading. Also, guys, these aren’t word-for-word patch notes. So chill. You can find those here.

1. All classes now receive 25% more benefit from Armor Penetration Rating.

 This means that armor penetration is once again a very nice stat to have. This is made apparent by the large amounts stuck to almost all pieces of gear from Ulduar.

 

2. All player or pet-generated taunts now have a shared diminish category. In addition, Taunt-type effects from pets and from classes other than DK, Druid, Pally, and Warrior have been set such that bosses can be made immune to them while still affected by DK, Druid, Pally, and Warrior taunts.

 

 This means that you can no longer pull agro with your pet if you forget to turn growl off during a raid encounter. This is kind of nice for us forgetful folk. Hmm, I have a differing opinion about what this actually means – can anyone confirm if this is in fact only for the “Taunt” talent, or if it applies to all threat-grabbing based abilities?

 

3. All pets now have +5% damage, armor, and health bonuses.

 

*edit* Hrm, apparently “This should make more pet families feel viable” threw me off – they made it sound like a good thing, but now I’m told it’s actually a nerf…I’m still not understanding how this makes more pet families feel viable. Someone please enlighten me.

 

4. If the target who triggers Frost Trap is immune to its effect, the Frost Trap will not be triggered.

 

 This is very important to know. Think of all the times you dropped Frost Trap thinking it would just go off regardless and get the mobs you wanted to get – what happens if the first mob to hit it is immune? Now you’re on cooldown. So now, make sure you aim your Frost Traps instead of placing them all willy-nilly everywhere.

 

5. Furious Howl now stacks with Battle Shout and Blessing of Might.

This makes the Wolf a very useful pet, giving you and your pet a mighty Attack Power buff regularly during a raid. I’ll be doing a comparison of cat, raptor, and wolf very soon.

 

6. All flasks now last 1 hour instead of 2. They now stack in 20’s. Northrend flasks (Flask of Endless Rage, example) will be converted to “mixtures”. Mixtures can create 2 flasks of the corresponding type. This allows players who stockpiled Northrend flasks to convert them to the new system without any loss.

 

Just a reminder not to flip out when you see different flasks flying about. Yours are still worth something, they stack well, and they don’t last as long. No worries, and less waste.

 

7. Flint and tinder is no longer necessary for creating a campfire.

 

 Um…okay. One less neat use for my pocket knife. =(

 

8. Ingredients such as spices, Apples and the like have been removed from most cooking recipes.

 

In other words, cooking is now easier and probably less expensive, and you won’t have to run around looking for a spice vendor.

 

9. Several NR recipes were given greater skill up ranges to make it easier to reach 450 cooking skill.

 

 Now you tell me! Son of a…

 

10. You no longer need to learn cooking from books.

 Why didn’t they do this ages ago? Oh well, I suppose your alt could benefit from this.

 

11. Flexweave Underlay now grants passive agility in addition to its normal effect.

 

 It now adds 15 agility. The best cloak enchant is currently +22 agility. Therefore, this flexweave underlay is STILL not viable. *cry*

 

12. Added 50 new glyph recipes, the huntery ones being :

 

 Glyph of Aimed Shot: Now reduces cooldown by 2 seconds.

 

Glyph of Chimera Shot: Reduces the cooldown of Chimera Shot by 1 second.

 

Glyph of Explosive Shot: Increases the critical strike chance of Explosive Shot by 4%.

 

Glyph of Explosive Trap: The periodic damage from your Explosive Trap can now be critical strikes.

 

Glyph of Kill Shot: Reduces the cooldown of Kill Shot by 6 seconds.

 

Glyph of the Monkey: This glyph has been converted to Glyph of Mending, which increases the healing done by Mend Pet by 40%.

 

Glyph of Raptor Strike: For 3 seconds after using Raptor Strike, you take 20% less damage.

 

Glyph of Scatter Shot: Increases the range of Scatter Shot by 3 yards.

 

Glyph of Snake Trap: Now reduces damage taken by snakes from area damage by 90%.

 

Glyph of Wyvern Sting: Now reduces the cooldown by 6 seconds, down from 15 seconds. No longer reduces the damage done by Wyvern Sting’s effect.

 

13. New Dungeon maps have been added for all WOTLK dungeons.

 

Finally! Now I won’t get horribly, horribly lost. Maybe.

 

14. A new feature has been added allowing players to allocate talent points before confirming they’d like to spend them. This feature must be turned on in the Interface Options.

 

 Never again will I make a spec mistake with just one talent point only to have to go and do it all over again. This is going to make life very easy. And inexpensive.

 

15. Yaaarrrr! now has a detailed tooltip.

 

 #1 most important change in all of patch 3.1. Finally, we’ll understand the intricacies of Yaaarrrr!

 

❤ Nass

 

~ by Kelly Jennelle on April 14, 2009.

49 Responses to “Patch 3.1 – 15 Things I Find Interesting”

  1. “5. Furious Howl now stacks with Battle Shout and Blessing of Might.

    This makes the Wolf a very useful pet, giving you a mighty Attack Power buff regularly throughout your raid. I’ll be doing a comparison of cat, raptor, and wolf very soon.”

    From what I remember of the PTR, Furious Howl is no longer raid wide =(

  2. Nope, but it’s still very useful. =D

  3. That was worded badly. For those of you who were thinking ‘ooh big AP buff for everyone’ furious howl is no longer raid wide, from what I remember. lol

  4. Yeah it’s great for hunters =D

  5. These aren’t Word-for-Word patch notes. These are what I’ve extracted and find interesting. If you didn’t know about it not being raid wide, ain’t my fault.

  6. Haha exactly. But some people don’t read the patch notes…shocking and hard to comprehend I know lol.

  7. Also not my fault.

    Perhaps I should put at the top : *Prerequisites needed*.

  8. “3. All pets now have +5% damage, armor, and health bonuses.
    Excellent! Now they will live, and DPS! Only better than before.”

    I do not think this means what you think it means. Currently pets have the following bonuses depending on the pet type:

    Ferocity: 10% dps,0% armour, 5% health
    Cunning: 5% dps,5% armour, 5% health
    Tenacity: 0% dps,5% armour, 10% health

    It is a giant nerf to tenacity and ferocity in their specializations.

  9. Haha. Wasn’t laying blame or fault anywhere, merely a “it’s a shame it’s not raid wide, if you didn’t already know” to people =)

  10. @Criven

    WTF. They made it sound so nice, like we were just getting a nice damage increase. How is this supposed to help things?

  11. I hate to be all down about the patch, but I’m not looking forward to it. Their mission to nerf hunters is still going, which is why mine is going into retirement =(

  12. Oh but they have changed the run animation on the spirit wolf! Awesome, let’s get one….oh no, wait you can’t tame it.

  13. We’re getting significant buffs…

  14. I think MM is, which is cool, I’d like to see MM doing the same sort of damage SV was/is. BM…let’s not go there lol.

  15. Honestly it won’t.

    The reason for the change is supposedly to allow any hunter to have any pet viable in a raid. The end result is a massive kick in the teeth to BM hunters.

    The idea is that a BM hunter will instead pick up things like “Shark Attack” and “Wild Hunt” to compensate.

    2 talent points invested in Shark Attack just about puts us back where we were pre patch (well 1% up).

    In exchange, we lose either the speed boosts that helped us have a hope in hell of keeping our pets alive, and useful, on pet murdering fights like Heigan or Sarth, or we lose the heal/res talent tree that more or less did the same thing.

    I’ve deep seated reservations about this. Here’s hoping the patch will be less cruel to my favoured spec than it seems to be.

  16. Apologies about the double post, MM and Survival will be getting substantial buffs. Unfortunately, the change to the pet % buffs, and the rise of the wolf’s free AP boost may be the equivalent of blizz Old Yeller’ing BM.

  17. I’ve got the word for word on wolves right here.

    Furious Howl (wolf special ability) now stacks with Battle Shout and Blessing of Might, however, it only affects the wolf and hunter. Its effect and cooldown have been doubled so that it provides the same benefit but isn’t up 100% of the time.

    As far as the “making pets viable” scheme they had, it DOES make sense. This is a nerf to ferocity DPS and a buff to Tenacity DPS, while increasing Ferocity survival and reducing tenacity survival. The change will make cunning a raid viable pet tree. Since the only buffs you’re getting are from your talents, cunning pets can now put out almost as much damage as a ferocity pet while having Roar of Recovery. For BM hunters like me, it’s nice to know we can regen 30% of our mana every 2.1 minutes.

    Even Tenacity might make an appearance so long as you talent it properly, but it will still do a lot less DPS than a properly talented cunning or ferocity pet. The bonus is that it simply won’t die as easily.

    By giving all pets the same starting point, more pets can do high DPS. This is mostly to get more cunning pets in the mix.

  18. I agree Klinderas that the reason is good, I disagree that the implementation is.

    It comes down to this, BM hunters are massively dependent upon their pet for DPS while MM and SV are not. (Roughly speaking, my pet is about 40-50% of my DPS in any given fight, My guild’s MM & SV hunters are looking at 10-20% max) As a result, Any change that reduces pet DPS hits BM hardest.

    Now, the change to wolves also creates a pet which trades off personal DPS for boosting that of its owner substantially. Since this boost is independent of the hunter’s talent choices, it makes for an ideal MM/SV pet.

    So we have a reduction in pet damage, and a pet which is basically an independent floating hunter buff. Not a good outlook for BM as a spec.

  19. Here’s the issue:

    All families weren’t meant to raid. And all families still won’t raid. So now we’re just dealing with a DPS nerf.

    We still won’t raid with turtles, we still won’t raid with nether rays. Why? Because their talents aren’t damage-based like ferocity, and because their abilities won’t increase damage.

    I think what they were doing was ninja-nerfing and making it sound like a good thing.

    This helps nothing.

    We most likely still won’t need the mana from cunning pets because the regen changes don’t affect us much, and because we now have improved mana-regen/reduction talents.

    As far as BM goes, I’m sorry to hear your spec isn’t doing so well. But at least give it a shot and see how it goes.

  20. Yup, most of the speculation is from PTR and PTR data was all over the place with Hunters so I’ll be going BM/MM when it drops for us tomorrow and seeing what happens. I’m not going to be pleased if my Druid outDPSs my Hunter. Hybrids shouldn’t outDPS pure classes.

    And I would love to see a turtle in a raid lol. As long as their ‘call pet’ is off cooldown lol.

  21. Blizz says: “2. All player or pet-generated taunts now have a shared diminish category. In addition, Taunt-type effects from pet and from classes other than DK, Druid, Pally, and Warrior have been set such that bosses can be made immune to them while still affected by DK, Druid, Pally, and Warrior taunts.”

    Nass says: “This means that you can no longer pull agro with your pet if you forget to turn growl off during a raid encounter. This is kind of nice for us forgetful folk.”

    I think this really means that the Tenacity ability to Taunt() wont work on some bosses. Growl can still aggro. This is a nerf and makes pet tanking or pet OTing less viable.

  22. Hmm, you really think it only applies to Taunt? I wonder what they mean by “taunt-like”.

    I wish they’d be more exact with these notes.

  23. Yeah, I think it doesn’t apply to Growl. Growl is a threat increase, not a Taunt. I think they call it ‘taunt-like’ because some abilities aren’t actually called ‘Taunt’… like Distracting Shot is a Taunt-like ability, since it forces the target to attack you, rather than just encouraging the target to attack you 🙂

  24. I thought Distracting Shot was more like growl in that it simply boosts your threat on a target?

  25. Distracting Shot is a taunt (leapfrogs you to the top of the threat list).

    Growl is a threat-increasing ability (increases your pet’s threat value by a set amount)

  26. Nope Distracting Shot was like that PRE WOTLK. But now it says to the boss “Ey yo! F*ck you!” And the boss answers the following “Ooooh you asked for it punk!”…right now DS is a ranged Taunt, wich made the “Razovius with 3 hunter tanks” tactic possible.

  27. Hmmm Why did I not see this change? Oh yeah, probably because I never used Distracting Shot…

    But now it might actually be useful – anyone here ever use it?

  28. It’s useful if you’re trapping and can’t/don’t want to use Freezing Arrow.

    I didn’t directly hear about the change, but I discovered it when I tried to Misdirect then Distracting Shot to help the tank build aggro. Doesn’t work that way anymore, dead me learned. 🙂

  29. I haven’t trapped in…

    a really long time. lol

  30. It’s quite useful right now as it is when your guild is trying 4 Horsemen. I use it to save the tank on Blmeaux or Zeliek if they are low on HP. Because they are taunted for a second the next cast from them goes on me, and the healers have some borrowed time to heal the designated tank. In PVP it’s good to taunt the demon doggy of the locks so my healer has one less interruption to worry about (for the time being). One can also use distracting shot on every mob and pop deterrence to give your raid some funny moments (i tanked a drake on Sarth 2D until our MT got b’rezzed)

  31. LOL I guess I’m just unlucky to never be in any of those situations…things just go according to plan in Explicit. I just stand and pew pew with the occasional misdirect and tranq. I can’t think of a scenario in which I’d really need to use Distracting Shot during a standard week of my WoW play. Maybe one day…

  32. Yeah i have to raid with people, who make mistakes more often, than it should be. I just have to live with it, and sometimes its more fun, than just pure pewpew *snicker*

  33. Yeah, I’m so jealous. =( My skills remain hidden beneath a well-oiled raiding group.

  34. Nothing to be jealous about, it’s only the difference between a half-hc and a hc guild =P

  35. Ur mom’s half HC.

    OooooooOOOoOOoOOOooooo!

  36. I actually thought of myself as HC but okay, self-critic is nothing bad =P

  37. Haha Ignore me and my bored ramblings…this day cannot end soon enough.

    Anyone hear anything about any meteors crashing to earth or something?

    Or maybe just a blackout for like, a week. I could live wtih that.

  38. Oh take a chill pill Nass you have about 4 hours left, until you can play with your huntress. I have 16 *cries*

  39. Oh, it’s not that which I care about – it’s Tax Season being over and done with so people stop being total douchef***s. =D I actually feel like taking a nap when I get home. =(

  40. Yup hibernation ftw…

  41. Sooooo i’m going to hibernate myself it’s 22:00 over here (at the end of the world, where the cookies are more delicious than yours HAHA).

  42. I’ve been on the verge of tears all day long and YOU JUST PUSHED THEM OVER THE EDGE!!!

    =*(

  43. i heard they made cookies op.

    The wording on half of these notes are fail as always~
    Psst! Nass when are you going to give us some Marks insight.

  44. “Psst! Nass when are you going to give us some Marks insight.”

    I’m a doer, not a thinker. Clearly. rofl

    When I get my hands on it, I’ll be writing pages and PAGES of crap for you all to read. =) Stay tuned.

  45. 7. Flint and tinder is no longer necessary for creating a campfire.

    Been that way since 3.0.8

  46. No, it hasn’t required wood. The flint and tinder was still needed to the best of my knowledge.

  47. I’ll try and not ramble…

    Pets are getting nerfed!

    Chimera for less mana = win!

    I currently use Distracting Shot (not often, but it does get used).

    Lastly, I’ve got the new talents all situated for my alts (10% of WoW time), but my Hunter (90% of WoW) I’m still not sure about.

    PS – Finally Duskwood is back up, now if only I could log onto my account and renew my subscription (account management still down)… curse you Blizzard and you’re frackn Battle.net! (For the record, I am not switching login to a Battle.net one until forced to)

  48. so i went on today expecting to have a bunch of 1000 stacks of ammo and i see that i still only have 200. So now i have a passive 15% haste buff and a ammo pouch or quiver that is no use but slots. With ammo that is only 200 and if i put it in a normal 20 bag slot bag i loose about 1600 ammo….So where is my new ammo stack?

  49. you have to manually stack it apparently -_- lazy blizz, its the clam thing all over again lol

Leave a Reply

 
