Ulduar Needs You! Silencing Shot

After attempts in Ulduar last night (10-man, totally unofficial), I had a bit of a wakeup call on Razorscale.

Having never seen the inside of Ulduar before last night (because I love me a surprise!), it was really overwhelming. Not only is it HUGE, but it’s so very different. If I could give it one word to be described as, it would be “interactive”. You’re constantly interacting with your surrounding environment.

We went through Leviathan, and even though Rhi and I drove like girls (where am I going? what does this button do? oh, look over here!), we managed to one-shot it. How was it? It was FUN. I loved it. I can’t wait to do it again and actually do well this time…

Next up, we visited Razorscale. This is also a very fun fight, and also interactive and very busy. But the number one thing I want to touch on here is the adds’ chain lightning. That stuff is brutal, and happens often. What’s the best way to deal with it? Silencing Shot! Luckily, I’d come prepared and was able to work on timing my Silencing Shot appropriately.

The best way to do this is to stand very near your target, but not so near that the other adds get you with their whirlwind. The closer you are, the less travel time your Silencing Shot has to deal with, and the cast time on Chain Lightning doesn’t leave much wiggle room. You have to cast Silence as soon as you see the words on the enemy cast bar.

Do you know what this means?? Hunters have a job to do again! This is exciting, and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the instance is like in terms of needed utility. Razorscale had me running willy-nilly all over the place, which was a ton of fun, and a bit of a challenge. Lots to focus on, no room for failure, and totally fast-paced. I love it.

Yes, yes, I know we’re not the only ones with a silence, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be using ours. Every single one counts! Be useful! Get Silencing Shot and pay some freakin’ attention.

That’s all for now. More to come after we continue attempts tonight.

❤ Nass

~ by Kelly Jennelle on April 17, 2009.

10 Responses to “Ulduar Needs You! Silencing Shot”

  1. Oh snap, that means I get to use my Strangulate button in raids again!

    …. if I ever see the inside of Ulduar, that is. 😦

  2. Yeah, you’re gonna need it. Strangle those little blue mofos!

  3. Rogues can kick robots in their metalic tushies!

    According to Dro, there’s also need of CC later on before you get to Ignis. =D

  4. Shift-6, baby. 🙂

  5. I’m more of a Ctrl-Mouse4 myself (thumb button). Can’t wait to use it tomorrow night.

  6. Excellent news; I do love to feel useful besides for other things than DPS 🙂

  7. Is it worth using Silencing Shot for just dps now now that its no on the GCD?

    Also yes after the crazyness that is 10man thorim last night its pretty much clear learn to CC/interrupt or GTFO. Im just very very happy we have Trash again!
    PS: Skip Ignus hes harder then like everything x.x

  8. Mine’s Shift-C 🙂

    Fennec- No, using Silencing Shot during a standard rotation will just get in the way of your more damaging shots, i.e. sucking up mana, etc. And seeing as how it’s such a long cooldown, I can’t see it helping you out much at all in the grand scheme of things. However, as a kiting shot, it could be quite nice. Just make sure that if you are in a situation during which you may need to silence, keep it available just for that. You don’t want to find yourself on cooldown.

  9. I’ve only had 5 tries on Razorscale (still haven’t killed him), and it’s a really fun fight as a hunter can bring a lot to it.
    MDing always helps
    Anyone tried using frosttraps? I know the adds spawn pretty random, but it they trigger the trap, why not get it out there?

  10. I would think that frost trap would be unnecessary since the majority of the mobs you see are casters – however, don’t be afraid to use traps, including freezing trap, to protect your healers if they pull aggro.

Leave a Reply

 
