Icky Math

Okay. After consulting someone who’s better at figuring this stuff out than I am (a.k.a. Nillas), I now have the equation for figuring out white ranged damage. This is important, because it will let us see the difference that attack power actually makes. If anyone sees any problems with the equation, please tell me.

Average White Damage A.S. Hit = (67.5*2.24+(6053/14)*2.24+2094)(.02+.05+.05)

= 1370.96

Ammo Dps = 67.5
Weapon Speed = 2.24
(Ranged) Attack Power = 6053
Average of Range of damage from weapon = 2094
i.e. 1943-2245 (1943+2245)/2
2% modifier = .02
5% modifier = .05

These are my stats while fully raid and self-buffed. The modifiers are Focused Fire, Marked for Death, and Ranged Weapon Specialization. We could also add in Improved Tracking – oh man, lame. Forgot about that one. We’ll leave it out for now, since below, I show that I can’t go any further….lame.

Let’s see what happens when we add 60 Attack Power to this equation.

Average White Damage A.S. Hit = (67.5*2.24+(6113/14)*2.24+2094)(.02+.05+.05)

But wait…how do we find the new average White damage? We don’t know the new range.

Wow, this is frustrating.

*pulls hair out*

EDIT – Oh wait…I think I just confused myself. Yup. Thoroughly confused. >.<

❤ Nass

~ by Kelly Jennelle on May 19, 2009.

7 Responses to “Icky Math”

  1. Hi Nass,

    I’m not sure I agree with that formula (and I can’t get it to give me the result you got, either). The equation that looks right to me is

    AWDAS = [((AD + (RAP/RAPF))*WS)+((WMIN+WMAX)/2)]*(1+([MODS]))

    AD – Ammo DPS
    RAP – Ranged Attack Power
    RAPF – RAP conversion factor (always 14)
    WS – Weapon speed
    WMIN – Weapon minimum damage (from the weapon’s tooltip, not the Ranged Damage statistic on the character sheet)
    WMAX – Weapon maximum damage (again, from the tooltip)
    MODS – Any modifiers from talents &c., added together

    So in your case, it’d be

    AWDAS = [((67.5 + (6053/14))*2.24)+((314+584)/2)]*(1+(0.2+0.5+0.5))

    AWDAS ends up being 1756.92 average white damage.

    If my math is wrong, please let me know, but that seems like the correct formula to me. 🙂

  2. Ooooo shiny! Thank you!! I’ll play with this one now. That makes much more sense. ❤

  3. The reason you don’t want to use the Ranged Damage statistic on the character sheet, by the way, is that it already includes the effects of ranged attack power (and possibly other effects as well). By including it in the formula you’re effectively including RAP twice.

    Adding 60 RAP to the above formula yields 1767.67 average white damage, by the way.

  4. Thank you thank you thank you!!! It all makes sense now. =D Now I can go back through and run the equations for everything else. This is the basis, and the rest should be simple enough. Thanks so much again for taking the time to help me.

  5. As noted on Twitter, but worth repeating here for other readers, the proper formula with Nass’s numbers plugged in is

    AWDAS = [((67.5 + (6053/14))*2.24)+((314+584)/2)]*(1+(0.02+0.05+0.05))

  6. OT… but I just now noticed the little lions on the bottom corners. Nice! Hopefully they haven’t been there for longer than a few days otherwise that would reflect poorly on my observational skills. That, or you’re writing is so engaging I fail to catch any of the surroundings while I’m visiting multiple times a day. :p

  7. Hahaha Thanks! They’ve been there for over a month now. =P BTW, what do you think they mean by “unmodified weapon dmg”?

Leave a Reply

 
