A Closer Look at Improved Steady Shot

Improved Steady Shot –

Your Steady Shot hits have a 5/10/15% chance to increase the damage done by your next Aimed Shot, Arcane Shot, or Chimera Shot by 15%, and reduce the mana cost of your next Aimed Shot, Arcane Shot, or Chimera Shot by 20%.

Let’s take a page from a WWS to see what effect this might have on damage. This here is last night’s Vault of Archavon clear. Let’s simplify by pretending that I did not have Improved Steady Shot at all, and we’ll make these numbers my base numbers. Then we’ll use the 15% chance and 15% damage increase to show the effect of the percentages on the overall damage.

Number of Steady Shot Hits (remember, you have to hit to proc, so cap it, suckas!) – 28

15% of 28 = 4.2, rounded to 4

Number of Arcane, Chimera Shots – 29 (16, 13)

Number of Affected Shots – 4 (for the sake of equality, we’ll say 2 of each, but it’d be great if you ended up buffing only Chimera)

15% of the average Arcane – 339

15% of the average Chimera – 500

Total Added Damage = 1678 in a 3 minute, 10 second fight.

Total Added DPS –  9.0

Fun Fact – 2 points in Wild Quiver did more damage than Eidan’s Rake.

In reality, I currently have 2 points in Improved Steady Shot, and my log states that it procced 3 times. Always remember that when dealing with chance, there’s….well….a chance. Like anything in life, you have to decide whether or not that chance is worth taking.

❤ Nass

~ by Kelly Jennelle on January 29, 2009.

8 Responses to “A Closer Look at Improved Steady Shot”

  1. Nice and concise explanation of the use of Improved Steady Shot.

  2. Thanks…now if only I could take my own advice and cap that damn hit rating…I think I’m 1 point away. lol

  3. Yeah, I’m pondering dropping the points I have in ISS as well as Silencing (blasphemous, for me) and get AMastery.

    I’ll see what it turns out like next Tuesday when I re-visit Patch.

  4. For the three hours that we worked on OS25+3D, my ISS procced 47 times. /shrug

    @Rilgon, I’m sacrificing a point in Efficiency before Silent Shot. We just lost a rogue, so we need all the interrupts we can get >.<

  5. I’m going to be going back to Aspect Mastery next week to get a feel for it again and compare against the spec I’m running with now.

    I’m still going back and forth on Aimed. Right now it just seems to be throwing me into Viper faster without giving me extra damage. I’m going to see if I can beef it up and have it be beneficial, but right now I’m doubtful. Not to mention it starts to conflict heavily with other shots’ cooldowns, which is a bit of a problem. I’ll work on it a bit more.

  6. Excellent explanation of the shot. Your the best!

  7. Your mom’s the best! ❤

  8. The use of Aimed relies on the variable of time and how long you get some sort of mana regen.

    Aimed is good as long as mana is not an issue. But if it puts you into Viper sooner, then you get a net dps loss.

Leave a comment